About Guru Ghasidas University, Bilaspur Chhattisgarh

Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, is a Central University of India, located in Bilaspur C.G. State, established under Central Universities Act 2009, No. 25 of 2009. Formerly called Guru Ghasidas University (GGU), established by an Act of the State Legislative Assembly, was formally inaugurated on June 16, 1983. GGU is an active member of the Association of Indian Universities and Association of Commonwealth Universities. The National Assessment & Accreditation Council (NAAC) has accredited the University as B+ . Situated in a socially and economically challenged area, the university is appropriately named to honor the great Satnami Saint Guru Ghasidas (born in 17th century), who championed the cause of the downtrodden and waged a relentless struggle against all forms of social evils and injustice prevailing in the society.The University is a residential cum affiliating institution, having its jurisdiction spread over Bilaspur Revenue Division of the state of Chhattisgarh


About Makhan Lal Chaturvedi Rashtriya Patrakarita Vishwavidyala , Bhopal

1.    Makhanlal Chaturvedi Rashtriya Patrakarita Vishwavidyalaya, Bhopal , was set up by Act Number 15 of 1990 of the Legislative Assembly of Madhya Pradesh. The University is named after Makhanlal Chaturvedi, a renowned Freedom Fighter, Poet and Journalist.

2.     This University was formally inaugurated by Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma, the then Vice President of India, on 16th January, 1991.

3.    The University is a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities and the Association of Indian Universities (AIU).

4.    It is not an Open University providing Distance Education. It does not provide education through correspondence.

5.    It is not a Conventional University having limited territorial jurisdiction. It has jurisdiction through out the country. Consistent with the recent trend of globalisation and internationalisation of education, the University is imparting education outside the country also.

6.    In keeping with its national character :-

·         The Vice President of India is the Visitor of the University

·         The General Council of the University, which is its Apex Body, comprises, amongst others, the following:-

·         A member of the Lok Sabha, nominated by the Speaker of Lok Sabha 

·         A member of the Rajya Sabha, nominated by the Chairperson of Rajya Sabha

·         Chairman of the Press Council of India

·         Ten members representing different States of the country. Five of them are nominated by Chief Ministers of respective States. The remaining five are representatives of five Indian languages

·         Three members representing three All India Professional Bodies.

·         Five professionals from various parts of the country.

7.    The University aims at developing excellent professionals with social commitment.

8.    The University imparts education through :-

·         Its Teaching Departments at Bhopal

·         Its campuses at Noida, which is now for all practical purposes, a part of Delhi; and at Khandwa

·         Network of Study Institutes spread over the whole country

9.    These Study Institutes are run by non-profit Societies & Trusts which are registered under the relevant laws.

10.  The relationship between the University and its Study Institutes comes closest to, and can be best described as, that existing between a Conventional University and its Affiliated Colleges.

11.  That is why;

·         The University prescribes norms for infrastructure, qualifications and number of faculty, eligibility for admission of students, norms of admission of students on merit, curriculum, number of teaching days (at least 90 days per Semester), minimum number of hours for Class Room-teaching, Laboratory and Practical Work per week, attendance required (75%) for students to be eligible to appear at the University examination and for other matters for which a Conventional University ordinarily prescribes norms for its affiliated colleges.

·         The University conducts examinations in a fair, strict and credible manner.

12.  Study Institutes which run Diploma Courses only are called Registered Study Institutes. Those which offer Degree and Post Graduate Courses are called Associated Study Institutes.

13.  The University registers or associates a Study Institute only if inspection by competent and trustworthy professionals finds it adhering to the prescribed norms or having potential to come up to these norms, within a reasonable period.

14.  Continued observance of prescribed norms is ensured through both regular and systematic inspections, and surprise inspections.

15.  Curricula for Courses of the University are designed and regularly updated jointly by eminent academics and professionals which have to be strictly followed by all Study Institutes and their students. 

16.  To promote holistic development of the personality of the students, to provide a platform to nurture and present artistic, literary and sports talents and to develop a feeling of fraternity and camaraderie amongst the students of the University, inter-Study Institutes, inter-Zonal and National level cultural and sports meets are organised. 


Developed By | Padma Technologies.com